Press releases

Healthy and sustainable ingredients from Agrilution’s Plantcube

Gütersloh/Berlin, 4. September 2020 Nr. 046/2020
  • Incomparably fresh, aromatic and nutrient-rich salads, herbs and microgreens

  • Smart fully automated greenhouse unit for a healthy lifestyle

Fancy fresh salads and herbs harvested at home, in an urban home without even a balcony or garden, and at any time of year? The unique Plantcubes from Miele’s new subsidiary Agrilution provide an innovative and sustainable approach to achieving this. The compact, fully automated greenhouse units from the Munich-based start-up bring healthy variety to your plate while also presenting a stylish eyecatcher for your home. With Agrilution, Miele is expanding its portfolio of creative and healthy enjoyment options.

More and more people are being drawn to urban centres, where gardens are in short supply and agricultural land is becoming ever rarer. This is where the idea of vertical farming comes into play – a pioneering concept in which food is produced in an environmentally friendly and space-saving manner in multi-level fully automated greenhouse units, and all as close to the place of consumption as possible. Agrilution is bringing this idea into your own home in the form of a mini vertical farm. A fully automated Plantcube is no larger than a standard fridge – and provides the perfect growing conditions for salads, herbs and microgreens.

As all the factors that influence growth are controlled by the cloud, it is always springtime in this smart unit. The automatic watering system supplies the plants with water and nutrients via an integrated tank, and specially developed LEDs featuring all the relevant wavelengths of natural sunlight provide optimum lighting and growth conditions. As a result, the plants produced have up to 30% more nutrients and are rich in antioxidants, vitamins and minerals.

An app updates you on plant growth and lets you know when they are at their best for you to enjoy. As the plants can be cultivated all year round, every season is harvest season. This is the very essence of sustainability: absolute freshness and healthy enjoyment without any transportation, cold chains or packaging waste.

This concept is drawing more and more fans to Agrilution. “In the past year alone, we have seen a major positive development in sales,” reports Agrilution CEO Max Lössl, who founded the company together with partner Philipp Wagner. This trend is also continuing into 2020 – influenced by the effects of COVID-19 as people are faced with spending more time at home and made to think about how to source healthy food. Lössl explains that during lockdown there has been a noticeable increase in sales online, which has later also continued in-store. He is also finding that environmental awareness is growing among consumers, and this is another area where Agrilution is reaping rewards: while a kilogram of field-grown salad  consumes 240 litres of water by the time it is harvested and travels 1000 kilometres on average before it reaches supermarket shelves, the Plantcube only requires half this amount of water when operated at full capacity for a year. This equates to water savings of 98%.

At present, eight seedmats spread across two levels can be cultivated at once in the Plantcube. 25 plant varieties including Thai basil, wasabina mustard and wild rocket are currently available. To satisfy customer demand, the portfolio is constantly being expanded to include new mixes, such as BBQ salad, Buddha bowl or stir fry, where different greens are grown on the same mat. “As well as striving to improve the quality of the food we eat and therefore making a contribution to healthy and tasty nutrition,” emphasises Max Lössl, “our next key concern is to achieve sustainability at every stage – this is also a top priority for us.”

The Plantcubes are available from the Agrilution online shop and selected kitchen studios and retailers (for ordering options and the list of retailers, please visit www.agrilution.com).

Media contact at Miele:

Carsten Prudent
Phone: +49 5241 89-1951
Email: carsten.prudent@miele.com

 

Media contact at Agrilution:
Corinna Fromm
Phone: +49 89 55 05 20 50
Email: agrilution@corinnafromm.de

 

About Agrilution: The son of an aid worker, Maximilian Lössl grew up in China and experienced early on in life the contrast between technical comfort and deepest poverty and malnutrition. So when he heard of vertical farming, the idea captured his imagination immediately and inspired the vision of ultimately bringing this revolutionary concept into every home. His aim is to create a perfect ecosystem which in future will enable everyone to grow their own nutrient-rich plants. Agrilution was established in Munich in 2013 and Plantcubes have been available on the market since March 2019. Along with co-founder Philipp Wagner, Lössl leads a dedicated team of scientists and engineers who are working to further develop sustainable indoor fully automated greenhouse units. Agrilution Systems GmbH has been part of the Miele Group since December 2019.

 

Company profile: Miele is the world's leading manufacturer of premium domestic appliances including cooking, baking and steam-cooking appliances, refrigeration products, coffee makers, dishwashers and laundry and floor care products. This line-up is augmented by dishwashers, washing machines and tumble dryers for commercial use as well as washer-disinfectors and sterilisers for use in medical and laboratory applications (Miele Professional). The Miele company, founded in 1899, has eight production plants in Germany as well as one plant each in Austria, the Czech Republic, China, Romania and Poland. These are joined by the two plants belonging to Miele's Italian medical technology subsidiary Steelco. Turnover in the 2018/19 business year was around € 4.16 bn, with a share of business outside Germany of approx. 71%. Miele is represented with its own sales subsidiaries and via importers in almost 100 countries/regions. Throughout the world, the family-run enterprise, now in its fourth generation, employs a workforce of around 20,500, whereof 11,050 are employed in Germany. The company has its headquarters in Gütersloh in Westphalia.

Download as PDF Download incl. media (zip)
Your contact

Carsten Prudent
+ 49 (0)5241/89-1951
carsten.prudent@miele.com

Media information

Description Download

The Plantcube is no larger than a standard fridge – and provides the perfect growing conditions for salads, herbs and microgreens.

High Resolution JPG

As the plants can be cultivated all year round, every season is harvest season. An app provides updates on plant growth and lets you know when they are at their best for you to enjoy. (Photo: Stefan Randlkofer)

High Resolution JPG

Subscribe to our press service

By subscribing to our free-of-charge press service you will be sent links to our latest press releases and photographs by email.

Subscribe here

Gesunder und nachhaltiger Genuss aus dem Plantcube von Agrilution

Gütersloh/Berlin, 4. September 2020 Nr. 046/2020
  • Konkurrenzlos frische, aromatische und nährstoffreiche Salate, Kräuter und Microgreens

  • Smarter Gewächsschrank für einen gesunden Lebensstil

Lust auf frische Salate und Kräuter aus eigener Ernte, und dies mitten in der Stadt, ohne Balkon und Garten und das ganze Jahr über? Hier bieten die einzigartigen Plantcubes der neuen Miele-Tochter Agrilution eine ebenso innovative wie nachhaltige Lösung. Die kompakten, vollautomatisierten Gewächsschränke des Münchner Start-ups bringen gesunde Vielfalt auf den Teller und bieten zugleich einen stilvollen optischen Akzent für Küche und Wohnraum. Mit Agrilution baut Miele sein Portfolio für kreative und gesunden Genuss weiter aus.

Immer mehr Menschen zieht es in die urbanen Zentren, wo Gärten Mangelware sind und Agrarflächen immer rarer werden. Hier kommt die Idee des „Vertical Farming“ ins Spiel, ein zukunftsweisendes Konzept, um Nahrungsmittel umweltschonend und platzsparend in mehrstöckigen Gewächshäusern zu produzieren, und dies möglichst nah am Ort des Verzehrs. Agrilution bringt diese Idee als ‚Mini-Vertical-Farm‘ in die eigenen vier Wände. Der vollautomatisierte Plantcube ist nicht größer als ein Standardkühlschrank – und bietet perfekte Wachstumsbedingungen für Salate, Kräuter und Microgreens.

Weil alle Einflussfaktoren per Cloud gesteuert werden, herrscht immer Frühling in dem smarten Gewächsschrank. Die automatische Bewässerung versorgt die Pflanzen über einen integrierten Tank mit Wasser und Nährstoffen, wobei speziell entwickelte LEDs mit allen relevanten Wellenlängen des Sonnenspektrums für optimale Licht- und somit Wachstumsverhältnisse sorgen. So entstehen Pflanzen mit einer bis zu 30 Prozent höheren Nährstoffdichte und reich an Antioxidantien, Vitaminen und Mineralien.

Eine App informiert über das Wachstum und den richtigen Zeitpunkt, die Pflanzen zu genießen: Saisonal völlig unabhängig ist so das ganze Jahr über Erntezeit. Das ist Nachhaltigkeit auf den Punkt gebracht: Absolute Frische und gesunder Genuss ganz ohne Transportwege, Kühlungsketten und Verpackungsmüll.

Mit diesem Konzept findet Agrilution immer mehr Fans. „Schon im vergangenen Jahr gab es eine deutlich positive Umsatzentwicklung“, berichtet CEO Max Lössl, der Agrilution mit seinem Partner Philipp Wagner zusammen gegründet hat. Ein Trend, der sich 2020 fortsetzt – auch beeinflusst durch die Auswirkungen von COVID-19 in Form einer stärkeren Auseinandersetzung mit dem eigenen Zuhause und dem Zugang zu gesunden Nahrungsmitteln. So habe es während des Lockdowns einen merklichen Umsatzanstieg im Online-Geschäft gegeben, der sich später auch im stationären Handel fortgesetzt habe, erklärt Lössl. Zugleich sieht er ein erhöhtes Umweltbewusstsein bei den Verbraucherinnen und Verbrauchern, und auch hier punktet Agrilution: Während ein Kilogramm Salat auf dem Feld bis zu seiner Ernte 240 Liter Wasser verbraucht und durchschnittlich 1.000 Kilometer zurücklegt bis er im Warenregal liegt, benötigt der Plantcube bei voller Auslastung nur die Hälfte dieser Menge für den Jahresbetrieb. Dies entspricht einer Wasserersparnis von 98 Prozent.

Aktuell lassen sich auf zwei Lagen acht Saatmatten auf einmal im Plantcube anpflanzen. Das Angebot umfasst 25 Pflanzensorten, darunter Thai Basilikum, Wasabina Blattsenf oder wilder Rucola. Den Wünschen der Kunden entsprechend, wird das Programm stetig erweitert, beispielsweise durch neue Mixes wie BBQ Salat, Buddha Bowl oder Stir Fry, wo auf einer Matte verschiedene Greens heranwachsen. „Wir haben aber nicht nur den Anspruch, die Qualität der Nahrungsmittel zu verbessern und so einen Beitrag für gesunde und genussvolle Ernährung zu leisten“, betont Max Lössl, „das zweite zentrale Thema ist die Nachhaltigkeit in allen Schritten, die für uns ebenfalls höchste Priorität hat.“

Erhältlich sind die Plantcubes im Agrilution Online-Shop und bei ausgewählten Küchenstudios und Fachhändlern (Bestelloption und Händlerliste: www.agrilution.de).

Medienkontakt Miele:

Carsten Prudent
Telefon: +49 (0)5241/89-1951
E-Mail: carsten.prudent@miele.com

Medienkontakt Agrilution:

Corinna Fromm
Telefon: +49 (0)89/55 05 20 50
E-Mail: agrilution@corinnafromm.de

 

Über Agrilution: Gründer Maximilian Lössl wächst als Sohn einer Entwicklungshelferin in China auf und erlebt früh den Kontrast zwischen technischem Komfort und tiefster Armut und Mangelernährung. Die Idee von Vertical Farming begeistert ihn sofort und lässt bei ihm die Vision wachsen, das revolutionäre Konzept langfristig in jedes Zuhause zu bringen. Er will ein perfektes Ökosystem kreieren, mit dem in Zukunft jeder seine eigenen, nährstoffreichen Pflanzen anbauen kann. 2013 fällt in München der Startschuss für Agrilution und seit März 2019 sind die Plantcubes im Markt erhältlich. Mit Co-Gründer Philipp Wagner führt Lössl ein engagiertes Team aus Wissenschaftlern und Ingenieuren für die Weiterentwicklung des zukunftsfähigen Indoor-Gewächsschranks. Seit Dezember 2019 gehört die Agrilution Systems GmbH zur Miele Gruppe.

Über Miele: Miele ist der weltweit führende Anbieter von Premium-Hausgeräten für die Bereiche Kochen, Backen, Dampfgaren, Kühlen/Gefrieren, Kaffeezubereitung, Geschirrspülen, Wäsche- und Bodenpflege. Hinzu kommen Geschirrspüler, Waschmaschinen und Trockner für den gewerblichen Einsatz sowie Reinigungs-, Desinfektions- und Sterilisationsgeräte für medizinische Einrichtungen und Labore (Geschäftsbereich Professional). Das 1899 gegründete Unternehmen unterhält acht Produktionsstandorte in Deutschland sowie je ein Werk in Österreich, Tschechien, China, Rumänien und Polen. Hinzu kommen die zwei Werke der italienischen Medizintechnik-Tochter Steelco Group. Der Umsatz betrug im Geschäftsjahr 2018/19 rund 4,16 Milliarden Euro (Auslandsanteil rund 71 Prozent). In fast 100 Ländern/Regionen ist Miele mit eigenen Vertriebsgesellschaften oder über Importeure vertreten. Weltweit beschäftigt der in vierter Generation familiengeführte Konzern etwa 20.500 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter, 11.050 davon in Deutschland. Hauptsitz ist Gütersloh in Westfalen.

Download als PDF Download inkl. Medien (zip)
Medienkontakt

Carsten Prudent
+ 49 (0)5241/89-1951
carsten.prudent@miele.com

Medien zu dieser Meldung

Beschreibung Download

Der Plantcube ist nicht größer als ein Standardkühlschrank – und bietet perfekte Wachstumsbedingungen für Salate, Kräuter und Microgreens.

High Resolution JPG

Saisonal völlig unabhängig ist das ganze Jahr über Erntezeit. Eine App informiert über das Wachstum und den richtigen Zeitpunkt, die Pflanzen zu genießen. (Foto: Stefan Randlkofer)

High Resolution JPG
Ansprechpartner Presse

Ansprechpartner

Rufen Sie uns an oder schicken Sie uns eine E-Mail, wenn Sie Fragen oder Wünsche haben. Wir helfen Ihnen gern.

Zu den Ansprechpartnern

Presseservice abonnieren

Mit dem kostenlosen Miele-Presseservice erhalten Sie per Mail einen Link zu den neuesten Pressetexten und Fotos von Miele.

Hier anmelden