Press releases

Miele at Altenpflege 2019 trade show: the latest laundry and dishwashing technology – even when space is at a premium

Gütersloh/Nuremberg, February 14, 2019 No. 17/2019

  • New washing machines and undercounter dishwashers reduce running costs and consumption
  • A systematic approach to laundry and crockery care in-house

Whether new compact washing machines offering disinfection, electronically controlled assignment of laundry items, or tailored hygienic dishwashing solutions: At the 'Altenpflege 2019' age-care exhibition, Miele will be demonstrating once again how recurrent work in care and nursing homes will be further simplified and optimised (Nuremberg, April 2-4, Building 006, Stand B 16).

Significantly reduced consumption and simpler operation: These are the most important benefits offered by 'Little Giants'. Now, these Miele washing machines and tumble dryers, a familiar fixture in the marketplace for decades, are to be replaced in April by two model series completely redesigned from scratch. As previously, they require only half a square meter of space yet offer greater loading flexibility. These – like the 'Hygiene' special washing machine model – have a load capacity of 7 kg. Clients opting for the 'Performance Plus' series can decide between load capacities of 6, 7 or 8 kg.

All machines have in common that the shortest cycle takes only 49 minutes. Water consumption has been reduced by up to 22%; electricity savings peak at 28%. Drying times have also been reduced: The fastest programme on vented models is now down to only 38 minutes. The heat-pump dryer now requires less than 60 minutes, or just two-thirds of the previous cycle duration.

Reliable disinfection according to VAH and RKI guidelines

Alongside tried-and-tested programmes for Cottons and Minimum Iron textiles, the new Little Giants from the 'Performance Plus' series offers 15 wash programmes which ensure reliable disinfection, including programmes which meet the requirements of the Association for Applied Hygiene (VAH) and the Robert Koch Institute (RKI). For instance, programmes without a pre-wash and with three rinse cycles at temperatures of up to 85°C meet RKI demands on infection control and hospital hygiene. Programmes are particularly easy to select thanks to a new touch display.

The laundry cycle from residents to the laundry and back again can be experienced 'live' by visitors to the fair. Barrier washing machines and tumble dryers are part and parcel of a logistics system to be presented by the Thermotex company: Labelling machines and robust transponders to identify laundry as well as sorting and transportation systems which further simplify life in a laundry. Tips on the efficient care of textiles will also be available – for example material provided free of charge by the independent 'Klasse Wäsche' initiative of which Miele was an initiator and founding member.

Operating costs reduced by 25%

Undercounter tank dishwashers, due to be launched in an enhanced version in 2Q19, represent a further highlight at the Miele stand. Thanks to a simplified user interface using a new full-touch display with self-explanatory pictogrammes means that human error is virtually eliminated. Furthermore, an optimised cleaning system cuts operating costs by up to 25%.

Miele is also presenting machines which have of course stood the test of time over many years in various applications in care and nursing homes: These include for example pass-through dishwashers which guarantee high throughput, fresh water dishwashers for ward kitchens, and larger laundry machines available as barrier models for installation in diaphragm walls.

 

Company profile: Miele is the world's leading manufacturer of premium domestic appliances including cooking, baking and steam-cooking appliances, refrigeration products, coffee makers, dishwashers and laundry and floor care products. This line-up is augmented by dishwashers, washer-extractors and tumble dryers for commercial use as well as washer-disinfectors and sterilisers for use in medical and laboratory applications (Professional Business Unit). The Miele company, founded in 1899, has eight production plants in Germany as well as one plant each in Austria, the Czech Republic, China and Romania. These are joined by the two plants belonging to Miele's Italian medical technology subsidiary Steelco. 2017/18 turnover amounted to approx. EUR 4.1 bn, with sales outside Germany accounting for 70%. Miele is represented with its own sales subsidiaries and via importers in almost 100 countries. Throughout the world, the family-run enterprise, now in its fourth generation, employs a workforce of around 20,100, whereof 11,200 are employed in Germany. The company headquarters are located in Gütersloh/Westphalia, Germany.

Download as PDF Download incl. media (zip)
Your contact

Anke Schläger
+ 49 (0)5241/89-1949
anke.schlaeger@miele.com

Media information

Description Download

Ample space for a laundry with a small footprint: A washing machine and dryer from the new generation of Little Giants. Each taking up only half a square meter of floor space, they guarantee clean and dry laundry in only 49 and 38 minutes respectively. (Photo: Miele)

High Resolution JPG

Subscribe to our press service

By subscribing to our free-of-charge press service you will be sent links to our latest press releases and photographs by email.

Subscribe here

Miele auf der Altenpflege 2019: Modernste Wäscherei- und Spültechnik – auch bei wenig Platz

Gütersloh/Nürnberg, 14. Februar 2019 Nr. 17/2019

  • Neue Waschmaschinen und Tankuntertisch-Spüler senken Verbrauchskosten

  • System-Konzepte für Geschirr- und Wäschepflege im Haus

Ob durch neue kompakte Waschmaschinen mit Desinfektion, elektronisch gesteuerte Zuordnung von Wäschestücken oder mit maßgeschneiderten Lösungen für hygienische Geschirrreinigung: Auf der „Altenpflege 2019“ zeigt Miele einmal mehr, wie sich täglich wiederkehrende Arbeiten in Senioreneinrichtungen weiter vereinfachen und somit optimieren lassen (Nürnberg, 2. bis 4. April, Halle 006, Stand B 16).

Deutlich niedrigere Verbräuche und einfachere Bedienung: Dies sind die wichtigsten Pluspunkte der neuen „Kleinen Riesen“. Die seit Jahrzehnten bewährten Waschmaschinen und Trockner werden im April durch zwei komplett neu konstruierte Baureihen abgelöst. Wie bisher benötigen sie nur einen halben Quadratmeter Platz, bieten aber mehr Flexibilität bei der Beladungsmenge. Sie können – wie auch die Spezialmaschine „Hygiene“ – mit sieben Kilogramm Wäsche gefüllt werden. Wer sich für die Baureihe „Performance Plus“ entscheidet, kann zwischen sechs, sieben oder acht Kilogramm Füllgewicht wählen.

Für alle Gerätevarianten gilt: Das kürzeste Waschprogramm dauert nur noch 49 Minuten. Der Verbrauch von Wasser sinkt um bis zu 22 Prozent, beim Strom liegen die Einsparungen bei maximal 28 Prozent. Auch die Laufzeit der Trockner wurde verkürzt: Das schnellste Programm der Abluft-Modelle ist schon nach 38 Minuten fertig. Der Wärmepumpentrockner benötigt jetzt weniger als 60 Minuten, also nur noch zwei Drittel der bisherigen Zeit.

Zuverlässige Desinfektion nach den Vorgaben von VAH und RKI

Neben den bewährten Programmen für Koch-/Buntwäsche und „Pflegeleicht“ bieten die neuen Kleinen Riesen der Baureihe „Performance Plus“ 15 Waschprogramme, die für eine zuverlässige Desinfektion sorgen, auch nach den Vorgaben des Verbunds für Angewandte Hygiene (VAH) und des Robert-Koch-Instituts (RKI). So erfüllen zum Beispiel Einbadverfahren mit drei Spülgängen bei bis zu 85°C die RKI-Vorgaben aus dem Bereich der Infektions- und Krankenhaushygiene. Die Programme lassen sich über ein neues Touch-Display besonders leicht ansteuern.

Den Kreislauf eines Textils vom Bewohner in die Wäscherei und wieder zurück erleben Messegäste bei Miele live. Hygienewaschmaschinen und Trockner fügen sich in ein Logistiksystem, welches das Unternehmen Thermotex vorstellt: Etwa Patchmaschinen und robuste Transponder für die Wäschekennzeichnung sowie Sortier- und Transportsysteme, die die Arbeit in der Wäscherei zusätzlich erleichtern. Tipps für die effiziente Pflege von Textilien gibt es auch – zum Beispiel kostenloses Material der unabhängigen Initiative „Klasse Wäsche“, zu deren Initiatoren und Gründungsmitgliedern Miele gehört.

Betriebskosten um 25 Prozent gesenkt

Ein weiteres Highlight auf dem Miele-Stand sind die Tankuntertisch-Spülmaschinen, die im zweiten Quartal 2019 in einer weiter verbesserten Ausführung auf den Markt kommen. Dank vereinfachter Bedienung über das neue Full-Touch-Display mit selbsterklärenden Piktogrammen sind bei diesen Geräten Anwendungsfehler nahezu ausgeschlossen. Darüber hinaus senkt ein optimiertes Reinigungssystem die Betriebskosten um bis zu 25 Prozent.

Außerdem präsentiert Miele Geräte, die sich seit vielen Jahren in unterschiedlichsten Bereichen von Senioreneinrichtungen bewähren: Beispielsweise Haubentankspüler, die einen hohen Geschirrdurchsatz ermöglichen, Frischwasserspüler für die Stationsküche und die größeren Wäschereimaschinen, die auch in Trennwandausführung verfügbar sind.

 

Über das Unternehmen: Miele ist der weltweit führende Anbieter von Premium-Hausgeräten für die Produktbereiche Kochen, Backen, Dampfgaren, Kühlen/Gefrieren, Kaffeezubereitung, Geschirrspülen, Wäsche- sowie Bodenpflege. Hinzu kommen Geschirrspüler, Waschmaschinen und Wäschetrockner für den gewerblichen Einsatz sowie Reinigungs-, Desinfektions- und Sterilisationsgeräte für medizinische Einrichtungen und Laboratorien (Geschäftsbereich Professional). Das 1899 gegründete Unternehmen unterhält acht Produktionsstandorte in Deutschland sowie je ein Werk in Österreich, Tschechien, China und Rumänien. Hinzu kommen die zwei Werke der italienischen Medizintechnik-Tochter Steelco Group. Der Umsatz betrug im Geschäftsjahr 2017/18 rund 4,1 Milliarden Euro, wovon 70 Prozent außerhalb Deutschlands erzielt wurden. In fast 100 Ländern ist Miele mit eigenen Vertriebsgesellschaften oder über Importeure vertreten. Weltweit beschäftigt der in vierter Generation familiengeführte Konzern etwa 20.100 Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen, 11.200 davon in Deutschland. Der Hauptsitz des Unternehmens ist Gütersloh in Westfalen.

Download als PDF Download inkl. Medien (zip)
Medienkontakt

Anke Schläger
+ 49 (0)5241/89-1949
anke.schlaeger@miele.com

Medien zu dieser Meldung

Beschreibung Download

Viel Platz für Wäsche auf kleinem Raum: Eine Waschmaschine und ein Trockner aus der neuen Generation Kleine Riesen. Auf jeweils einem halben Quadratmeter sorgen sie schon innerhalb von 49 Minuten für saubere und in 38 Minuten für trockene Wäsche. (Foto: Miele)

High Resolution JPG
Ansprechpartner Presse

Ansprechpartner

Rufen Sie uns an oder schicken Sie uns eine E-Mail, wenn Sie Fragen oder Wünsche haben. Wir helfen Ihnen gern.

Zu den Ansprechpartnern

Presseservice abonnieren

Mit dem kostenlosen Miele-Presseservice erhalten Sie per Mail einen Link zu den neuesten Pressetexten und Fotos von Miele.

Hier anmelden